On the occasion of ‘National Unity Day’ today, A massive ‘Run for Unity’ was held by the NSS Units of St. Joseph’s College for Women (A). Organized by the Program Officer D r. K. Manikya Kumari of NSS Unit-I of the college, more than 200 students and several faculty members actively participated in the Run. The World’s tallest statue of Sardar Vallabhabhai Patel was erected on the river Yamuna and was unveiled & dedicated to the nation today by the Govt of India. Declaring his birth day as ‘National Unity Day’ Patel’s statue was named as ‘Statue of Unity’. Commemorating all these events, entire nation was given a call to celebrate this day by taking up massive rallies and ‘Run for Unity’. On this occasion, St. Joseph College National Service Units have conducted Essay writing and Poster making competitions to the students on the topic ‘India, A nation of Unity and Integrity in Diversity’. Later a massive Run for Unity was organized. The run started at the college premises and proceeded through  the major streets of Gnanapuram via Zone-IV Municipal Corporation Office, then took its route to Railway station and Port junction circle near petrol bunk and wholesale market yard and finally back to the college. The students were filled with national fervour  and raised slogans on ‘United we run’, Together we stand with unity in diversity’, ‘One India-One Nation’, ‘United Indi –Great India’, ‘Sardar Patel  for united India’ etc. The college campus and the streets around echoed with their voices and slogans. The run was inaugurated by the college Correspondent Sister Veronica and Principal Sr. Shyji and appreciated students for their active participation in the program. Former Prime Minister Mrs. Indira Gandhi’s death anniversary was also remembered today and all students offered tributes to the great leader by maintaining two minutes of silence.

Besides this, Voter Enrollment drive was also taken up by the students to encourage people to enroll themselves in the electorate rolls. Students advised general public to enrol all those who turn 18 years by 1st Jan 2019 and become sensible voters to build better India.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here